Amy Montgomery – Alterations

This blog originally appeared on Album On Payday.

February’s album was another one that I picked up at a gig. I found myself with a week off work at the end of the month and headed down to London to see Cormac Neeson (of The Answer fame) give his debut solo show, performing his upcoming album. Was a great gig, and I can’t wait to get my mitts on that record.

The support act was Amy Montgomery, a pal of Cormo’s from across the Irish sea. Chatting to some people at the bar beforehand I could hear her sound checking in the other room and holy hell, what a voice! The soaring bluesy, gravelly tones of Janis Joplin, with less of a penchant for being slightly on the flat side.

Her set absolutely blew me away, and included an awesome cover of Led Zeppelin’s Trampled Underfoot. Covering Zep can always be a risky decision, but pull it off, and you’re very likely to make me a fan.

I was lucky enough to hang out with Cormo, Amy and their respective bands after the show and she’s an incredibly cool chick. I was out of cash, but as the bar was accepting card payments, I secured a copy of her album in exchange for a whiskey. Can’t argue with that.

The album itself is great. Tonnes of hippy vibes, some cool poetry, and that stop-you-in-your-tracks larynx all setting it off perfectly. Definitely one to check out, give it a listen!

Leave a comment