More hands on impressions with Nintendo Switch

I got to try out the Switch once more, this time in Manchester. I give some further impressions on the hardware itself, as well as Snipperclips, Zelda: Breath of the Wild, Splatoon Two, Mario Kart 8 Deluxe, and 1-2 Switch.

Script:

C1: Welcome back to P Myth Gaming, and the second of my hands-on impressions videos with the Nintendo Switch. I originally got to try Ninty’s new console out at the London premiere back in January and today I drove up to Manchester for Nintendo’s roadshow open to the public event thingymajig.

So the games I got to play were Zelda, again, obviously, 1, 2 Switch, Mario Kart 8 Deluxe, Splatoon Two, and thankfully, Snipperclips!

C2: I missed out in London due to the queue being longer than a Peter Jackson film.

C1: Having talked about my experience with most of these games before I’m going to kick things off with my impressions of Nintendo’s cute little puzzler, Nippleslips, err I mean Snipperclips

C2: I really need to stop saying that.

C1: So the presentation as you’ve no doubt seen, is really cute but kinda quirky as well. You really can’t help but smile at the various facial expressions your shape pulls as you’re rotating it, crouching, jumping, cutting each other out and so on. It does a great job of easing you into the mechanics of cutting each other

C2: It makes us sound like a bunch of emo kids

C1: In order to solve the puzzles that get thrown at you.

VO: We got to sample the intro section and one of the main puzzles. The mechanic of actually conversing with each other and working out how to position ourselves, to fashion the right shape in order to solve the puzzles that were thrown at us, was really enjoyable. The simplicity of the gameplay itself means you really feel you can take on whatever it might throw at you, and it’s not the game itself that you really have to overcome, but the limits of your own creativity in setting out how to solve the puzzle. The approach we took, of essentially flinging the ball up into the air, then jumping off each other to basically ally-oop the ball into the net, was wildly different to both the trailer that was playing as part of the booth décor, and to how other players were solving it before us.

C1: The game is utterly charming, and I can see it being a really enjoyable way to spend an evening, chilling out with your girlfriend or boyfriend, or your flatmate and working through a load of snipperclips puzzles.

With it being out in March, and as a cheaper, e-shop only title, I can see it being one of the Switch’s early must-have games.

Moving on then to Splatoon Two, I cannot stress once again just how bright and colourful this game looks.

VO: It’s definitely a big jump up from the first game visually. The textures are much more impressive, and the ink has this sheen to it that makes it really look like paint. The colours pop so much. Don’t let anyone tell you that this is just a glorified port of the first one, or Splatoon one and a half. It obviously retains the same core gameplay that made the original such a success. And why wouldn’t it?! The original is one of the best games on the Wii U, you wouldn’t want to mess with that winning formula too much.

C1: My mate who came to event with me, despite being a Wii U owner, has never played the first one.

C2: The philistine

C1: But was rather effusive about Splatoon after the one match we played, saying he can definitely see himself adding it to his Switch library. This will be the big summer title for Switch, and rightly so.

We also had three of the 28 minigames that are available in 1, 2 Switch to sample. Those three games being Quick Draw and Milk, which I tried out in London, and the balls in a box one which showed off the HD rumble.

VO: Even more so than the safe cracker one I tried out back in January, this really showcased the subtlety of that HD rumble. The JoyCon really felt like it had balls rolling around inside it, it was spectacularly impressive.

C1: I’m excited to see it implemented in full game scenarios, the potential for heightened immersion in games that utilise it properly is immense. I’d love to see Capcom apply it to a Switch version of Resident Evil 7.

C2: Which they have said they’ve looked at.

VO: All in all though, despite enjoying enjoying the stuff we played, I really can’t see how it justifies it’s price tag. It’ll be a laugh at parties, and for £20 say it would be worth picking up. But it really, really should’ve been a pack-in.

C1: Now there’s not really a great deal about Zelda I can say that hasn’t already been said. It looks stunning, honestly, watching videos on YouTube really doesn’t do it justice, and again we only got a very limited amount of time with it.

C2: Ten minutes they said they were giving us, but the timestamp on my video was 7 and a half minutes. You owe me two and half minutes of Zelda Nintendo!

C1: So I’m going to talk about the hardware itself.

VO: I played Breath of the Wild, first with the Pro controller. Now after the London event, I wasn’t massively sold on the Pro controller. This was nothing to do with the pad itself, but just because the sad puppy grip, that comes bundled with the system, felt really great. But having played with them both again – using the grip for Splatoon Two – I’m glad I decided to pre-order a Pro controller alongside my system. The buttons are much larger than the ones found on the JoyCons, and whilst the latter are perfectly fine, the Pro Controller just feels a lot more natural and a lot more satisfying. The grip still felt great for Splatoon, and it’s more than serviceable if you can’t get hold of a Pro for whatever reason. But that extra comfort that the Pro provides, not to mention the 40 hour battery life, means it’s definitely the way to go if you can.

Removing the Switch from the dock itself, which I did after falling off the Temple of Time to my death yet again, was both strangely satisfying, and instaneous.

C1: The Switch is a really impressive bit of tech. This isn’t the plasticy toy type thing we’re used to from Nintendo over the past well, all of the generations. This is a grown up device, and it feels like it.

We ran out of time so we didn’t get to try Arms, instead opting for a second go on Mario Kart 8 due to the much shorter queue.

I didn’t notice much difference visually from the Wii U version, it might well be there, but I’d have to see them side-by-side to really pick it out. If not though, it’s not a big deal, Mario Kart 8 is one of the best looking games on that system, and it in no way looks poor on the Switch.

There was no demo of the new battle mode to try out unfortunately, but the main mode plays just as well as it always has.

C2: I also won the first race this time, despite being blue shelled, thank you very much.

VO: There is a new feature which takes the form of like a radio antenna on the back of your cart. This steers you away from the edge of the track to stop you going off circuit or falling down a chasm. Great for beginners, but for seasoned pros such as myself who often hug the barrier to get the quickest line it really messed up my rhythm. Obviously you can turn this off in single player, so far as we know, but I really hope that it isn’t present online – which there’s no reason it should be.

C1: So I’m really glad I went to try out the Switch once more before launch. It’s definitely sold me on the pro controller

C2: It feels so good in my hands

C1: And getting to play Benedict Snipperclips was a lot of fun as well, I’m going to pick that up forwhen I need a break from the intensity of Breath of the Wild.

Quick shout-out the staff at the event, really friendly and helpful again, a couple of them even remembered me from the London show as well, so that was cool.

Thanks very much for watching, please hit the like button and check out some of my other videos. If you want to keep up to date please subscribe too. Less than two weeks to go people, I am hyped!

Leave a Reply

